During the centuries a lot of fortified systems have been built which made of the peninsula an impregnable fortress. Every year on the city’s celebration day 15th August there is a unique 3D Mapping show – Sound, lighting, multimedia and design, laser show, LED screens.
The basilica was built at the end of 5th century and the beginning of 6th century. There were two periods in its construction, rebuilt subsequently in the beginning of the 9th century. It was an important part of the Nessebar bishop’s residence.
Terms (baths) in Nessebar were built in 6th century during the ruler of Byzantine emperor Justinian I the Great (527-565). About 2/3 of their area is studied – 5 warm premises – two of them with semi-circled pools, central hall and a corridor. The other part of the building is now under the streets and houses nearby.
The terms were discovered during the excavations in 1973-1975 and 1998-2001. The building is partly restored and conserved.
Basilica Holy Mother Eleusa (Tenderness) was situated on the northern side of the peninsula. It was built 6th century. It is a three-nave church with three more apses and a narthex. The two side aisles have two smaller apses pointing the North and to the South. The northern part and the central nave have sunk in the sea. The basilica is 28 m long and 18 m wide. In 1920 excavations and studyings started here. Now the basilica is well preserved and partly restored. In the historical sources the church is mentioned until 14th century, when it was a part of a monastery complex.
The ruins of this small church, most probably built in 11th century, lie north of the Old Metropolis. It may have been a miniature family church, with a cruciform dome, three apses, and a square foundation. The bases of the three columns, supporting the dome, have been preserved. The church was discovered during archaeological excavations in 1968.
The Saint John Aliturgetus (Unconsecrated) Church was built 14th century. Even damaged in the earthquake in 1913 and not well preserved, the church is a proof of the supreme period in the construction of cult buildings in medieval Bulgaria. The church is crusiforme with a square naos and a large narthex. There are four pairs of columns supporting the dome. The facades of the churches are the most impressive. Here the picturesque style reached its biggest development.
The name of the church “St. Vlahara” was preserved in transmission among the local population. It is assumed that the temple was dedicated to St. Mary Blachernai. From the building was partially preserved eastern wall – proscomidian niche is fully preserved and the apse only partly. The wall is built of alternating stones aligned with bricks and the arches were also made of bricks.